Typography Trees - From Here to There Project

From Here to There – Typography Trees

This was a brief set to me in Year 2 of college to prepare for a University Interview and a chance to get an extra piece for my portfolio.

“EVALUATION PROJECT
We would like to see an example of work that indicates that you could be a creative thinker/designer, we love to see visual wit and things that are presented in a way that will surprise, intrigue and delight, as well as inform us.
We would like you to spend between 3 and 5 days work- ing on a project entitled  “FROM HERE TO THERE” … it should be a comparison between where you are now and where you would like to be in 5 years time.
This can be interpreted in anyway that you wish … it could be to do with geography or career path, or could be to do with state of mind or other personal material. It could be based on a reasoned assumption about what the future holds or it could be wild and fantastic speculation.
Any media can be used. You can use drawn or photo- graphic images, lettering, diagrammatic or abstract elements, so long as there is some element of image and some element of letter form. Every decision you make should increase the power of the communication.

I decided to do this through the medium of Typography and the use of trees to express growth.  I chose pictures that were personal to be to act as leaves but I believe that the image would be stronger without the photographs. The further away the time the smaller the trees – so my fifth year tree is the smallest one because I have longer to get there.

Typography Trees
Nicolle Elizabeth Design

At the time I began to create this I had really started to get interested in Typography and what things had been done and what things could be done.  This new interest was the main inspiration for this piece, however, these are some images that helped me complete this piece.

I was doing my Graphic Design A2 work just before my exams so I had no time to make this as elaborate as I wanted it to be, nor the skills at the time to complete it within the brief time period.  I would love to recreate this piece at a later stage with a more elaborate feel and with more time to complete it.

Leave a comment